PIOSENKI LEONARD COHEN

2014-05-12 20:40

 

DANCE ME TO THE END OF LOVE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ye6JssTdnvw

Dance me to your beauty

 with a burning violin

 Dance me through the panic

 'til I'm gathered safely in

 Lift me like an olive branch

 and be my homeward dove

 And dance me to the end of love

 yeah dance me to the end of love

 

 Oh let me see your beauty

 when the witnesses are gone

 Let me feel you moving

 like they do in Babylon

 Show me slowly what I only

 know the limits of

 Dance me to the end of love

 Dance me to the end of love

 

 Dance me to the wedding now

 dance me on and on

 Dance me very tenderly

 and dance me very long

 We're both of us beneath our love

 we're both of us above

 And dance me to the end of love

 yeah, dance me to the end of love

 

Dance me to the children

 who are asking to be born

 Dance me through the curtains

 that our kisses have outworn

 Raise a tent of shelter now

 though every thread is torn

 And dance me to the end of love

 

 Dance me to your beauty

 with a burning violin

 Dance me through the panic

 till I'm gathered safely in

 Touch me with your naked hand

 or touch me with your glove

 Dance me to the end of love

 Dance me to the end of love

 Dance me to the end of love

 

FAITH

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRyF1lRuTmI

The sea so deep and blind

 The sun, the wild regret

 The club, the wheel, the mind,

 O love, aren't you tired yet?

 The club, the wheel, the mind

 O love, aren't you tired yet?

 The blood, the soil, the faith

 These words you can't forget

 Your vow, your holy place

 O love, aren't you tired yet?

 The blood, the soil, the faith

 O love, aren't you tired yet?

 A cross on every hill

 A star, a minaret

 So many graves to fill

 O love, aren't you tired yet?

 So many graves to fill

 O love, aren't you tired yet?

 The sea so deep and blind

 Where still the sun must set And time itself unwind

 O love, aren't you tired yet?

 And time itself unwind

 O love, aren't you tired yet?

 

 

FAMOUS BLUE RAINCOAT

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pXBisteRms

It's four in the morning, the end of December

 I'm writing you now just to see if you're better

 New York is cold, but I like where I'm living

 There's music on Clinton street all through the evening

 I hear that you're building your little house deep in the desert

 You're living for nothing now

 I hope you're keeping some kind of record

 

 Yes, and Jane came by with a lock of your hair

 She said that you gave it to her

 That night that you planned to go clear

 Did you ever go clear?

 

 On the last time we saw you, you looked so much older

 Your famous blue raincoat was torn at the shoulder

 You'd been to the station to meet every train

 You came home without Lili Marlene

 You treated my woman to a flake of your life

 And when she came back she was nobody's wife

 Well; I see you there with a rose in your teeth

 One more thin gypsy thief

 Well I see Jane's awake

 She sends her regards 

 

And what can I tell you, my brother, my killer

 What can I possibly say

 I guess that I miss you, I guess I forgive you

 I'm glad you stood in my way

 If you ever come by here, for Jane or for me

 Well, your enemy is sleeping and his woman is free

 

 Yes, and thanks for the trouble you took from her eyes

 I thought it was there for good so I never tried

 And Jane came by with a lock of your hair

 She said that you gave it to her

 That night that you planned to go clear

 

 Sincerely,

 L. Cohen

 

GYPSY’S WIFE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9K-3JTzP6I

And where, where, where is my Gypsy wife tonight

 I've heard all the wild reports, they can't be right

 But whose head is this she's dancing with on the threshing floor

 whose darkness deepens in her arms a little more

 

 And where, where is my Gypsy wife tonight?

 Where, where is my Gypsy wife tonight?

 

 Ah the silver knives are flashing in the tired old cafe

 A ghost climbs on the table in a bridal negligee

 She says, "My body is the light, my body is the way"

 I raise my arm against it all and I catch the bride's bouquet

 

And where, where is my Gypsy wife tonight?...

 

 Too early for the rainbow, too early for the dove

 These are the final days, this is the darkness, this is the flood

 And there is no man or woman who can't be touched

 But you who come between them will be judged

 

 And where, where is my Gypsy wife tonight?...

 

HALLELUYAH

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrLk4vdY28Q

I’ve heard there was a secret chord

 That David played, and it pleased the Lord

 But you don't really care for music, do you?

 It goes like this

 The fourth, the fifth

 The minor fall, the major lift

 The baffled king composing Hallelujah

 

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 

 Your faith was strong but you needed proof

 You saw her bathing on the roof

 Her beauty in the moonlight overthrew you

 She tied you to a kitchen chair

 She broke your throne, and she cut your hair

 And from your lips she drew the Hallelujah

 

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 

 Baby I have been here before

 I know this room, I've walked this floor

 I used to live alone before I knew you

 I've seen your flag on the marble arch

 Love is not a victory march

 It's a cold and it's a broken Hallelujah

 

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 

 There was a time when you let me know

 What's really going on below

 But now you never show it to me, do you?

 And remember when I moved in you

 The holy dove was moving too

 And every breath we drew was Hallelujah

 

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 

Maybe there’s a God above

 But all I’ve ever learned from love

 Was how to shoot at someone who outdrew you

 It’s not a cry you can hear at night

 It’s not somebody who has seen the light

 It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah

 

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 

 You say I took the name in vain

 I don't even know the name

 But if I did, well really, what's it to you?

 There's a blaze of light in every word

 It doesn't matter which you heard

 The holy or the broken Hallelujah

 

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 

 I did my best, it wasn't much

 I couldn't feel, so I tried to touch

 I've told the truth, I didn't come to fool you

 And even though it all went wrong

 I'll stand before the Lord of Song

 With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah

 

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 Hallelujah

 

I’M YOUR MAN

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iW8rFho6In8

If you want a lover

 I'll do anything you ask me to

 And if you want another kind of love

 I'll wear a mask for you

 If you want a partner

 Take my hand

 Or if you want to strike me down in anger

 Here I stand

 I'm your man

 

 If you want a boxer

 I will step into the ring for you

 And if you want a doctor

 I'll examine every inch of you

 If you want a driver

 Climb inside

 Or if you want to take me for a ride

 You know you can

 I'm your man

 

 

 

 

 

Ah, the moon's too bright

 The chain's too tight

 The beast won't go to sleep

 I've been running through these promises to you

 That I made and I could not keep

 Ah but a man never got a woman back

 Not by begging on his knees

 Or I'd crawl to you baby

 And I'd fall at your feet

 And I'd howl at your beauty

 Like a dog in heat

 And I'd claw at your heart

 And I'd tear at your sheet

 I'd say please, please

 I'm your man

 

And if you've got to sleep

 A moment on the road

 I will steer for you

 And if you want to work the street alone

 I'll disappear for you

 If you want a father for your child

 Or only want to walk with me a while

 Across the sand

 I'm your man

 

 If you want a lover

 I'll do anything that you ask me to

 And if you want another kind of love

 I'll wear a mask for you

 

IN MY SECRET LIFE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NW7oNpzBSGc

I saw you this morning.

 You were moving so fast.

 Can’t seem to loosen my grip

 On the past.

 And I miss you so much.

 There’s no one in sight.

 And we’re still making love

 In My Secret Life.

 

 I smile when I’m angry.

 I cheat and I lie.

 I do what I have to do

 To get by.

 But I know what is wrong,

 And I know what is right.

 And I’d die for the truth

 In My Secret Life.

 

 Hold on, hold on, my brother.

 My sister, hold on tight.

 I finally got my orders.

 I’ll be marching through the morning,

 Marching through the night,

 Moving cross the borders

 Of My Secret Life.

 

 

 Looked through the paper.

 Makes you want to cry.

 Nobody cares if the people

 Live or die.

 And the dealer wants you thinking

 That it’s either black or white.

 Thank G-d it’s not that simple

 In My Secret Life.

 

 I bite my lip.

 I buy what I’m told:

 From the latest hit,

 To the wisdom of old.

 But I’m always alone.

 And my heart is like ice.

 And it’s crowded and cold

 In My Secret Life.

 

LAND OF PLENTY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHMxKgNbATo

Don't really have the courage

 To stand where I must stand.

 Don't really have the temperament

 To lend a helping hand.

 

 Don't really know who sent me

 To raise my voice and say:

 May the lights in The Land of Plenty

 Shine on the truth some day.

 

 I don't know why I come here,

 Knowing as I do,

 What you really think of me,

 What I really think of you.

 

 For the millions in a prison,

 That wealth has set apart -

 For the Christ who has not risen,

 From the caverns of the heart -

 

 

 

For the innermost decision,

 That we cannot but obey -

 For what's left of our religion,

 I lift my voice and pray:

 May the lights in The Land of Plenty

 Shine on the truth some day.

 

 I know I said I'd meet you,

 I'd meet you at the store,

 But I can't buy it, baby.

 I can't buy it anymore.

 

 And I don't really know who sent me,

 To raise my voice and say:

 May the lights in The Land of Plenty

 Shine on the truth some day.

 

 For the innermost decision

 That we cannot but obey

 For what's left of our religion

 I lift my voice and pray:

 May the lights in The Land of Plenty

 Shine on the truth some day.

 

NANCY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8R2LlrgWcak

It's seemd so long ago

 Nancy was alone,

 looking at the Late Late show

 through a semi?precious stone.

 In the House of Honesty

 her father was on trial,

 in the House of Mystery

 there was no one at all,

 there was no one there at all.

 

 It seems so long ago,

 none of us were very strong;

 Ah, but Nancy wore green stockings

 and she, she slept with everyone.

 She never said she'd wait for us

 even though she was alone,

 I think she fell in love for us

 in nineteen sixty one,

 in nineteen sixty one.

 

Ah the morning would not come,

 Nancy was alone,

 a forty five beside her head,

 an open telephone.

 Yes, we told her she was beautiful,

 we all told her she was free

 but none of us could meet her in

 the House of Mystery,

 the House of Mystery.

 

 And now why don't you look around you,

 see her everywhere,

 many of you who used her body,

 many combed her hair.

 And in the hollow of the night

 when you are cold and numb

 you hear her talking freely then,

 she's happy that you've come,

 she's happy that you've come.

 

SOLIDARITY FOREVER

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jsQEwW4DVw

They have taken untold millions that they never toiled to earn

 But without our brain and muscle not a single wheel can turn

 We will break their haughty power, gain our freedom when we learn that

 The union makes us strong

 Solidarity Forever, Solidarity Forever, Solidarity Forever

 For the union makes us strong

 

 In our hands is placed a power greater than their hoarded gold

 Greater than the might of atoms multiplied a thousand-fold

 We will give birth a new world from the ashes of the old for

 But the union makes us strong

 Solidarity Forever, Solidarity Forever, Solidarity Forever

 For the union makes us strong

 

It is we who plowed the prairies, build the cities where they trade

 Dug the mines and build the workshops, endless miles of railroad laid

 Now we stand outcast and starving 'mid these wonders we have made but

 The union makes us strong

 Solidarity Forever, Solidarity Forever, Solidarity Forever

 For the union makes us strong

 

 When the union's inspiration through the workers blood shall run

 There can be no power greater anywhere beneath the sun

 Yet what force on Earth is weaker than the feeble strength of one but

 The union makes us strong

 Solidarity Forever, Solidarity Forever, Solidarity Forever

 For the union makes us strong

 

SUZANNE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snMOmHzgssk

 

Suzanne takes you down to her place near the river

 You can hear the boats go by

 You can spend the night beside her

 And you know that she's half crazy

 But that's why you want to be there

 And she feeds you tea and oranges

 That come all the way from China

 And just when you mean to tell her

That you have no love to give her

 Then she gets you on her wavelength

 And she lets the river answer

 That you've always been her lover

 And you want to travel with her

 And you want to travel blind

 And you know that she will trust you

 For you've touched her perfect body with your mind.

And they will lean that way forever

 While Suzanne holds the mirror

 And you want to travel with her

 And you want to travel blind

 And you know that you can trust her

 For she's touched your perfect body with her mind.

And Jesus was a sailor

 When he walked upon the water

 And he spent a long time watching

 From his lonely wooden tower

 And when he knew for certain

 Only drowning men could see him

 He said "All men will be sailors then

 Until the sea shall free them"

 But he himself was broken

 Long before the sky would open

 Forsaken, almost human

 He sank beneath your wisdom like a stone

 And you want to travel with him

 And you want to travel blind

 And you think maybe you'll trust him

 For he's touched your perfect body with his mind.

 

 Now Suzanne takes your hand

 And she leads you to the river

 She is wearing rags and feathers

 From Salvation Army counters

 And the sun pours down like honey

 On our lady of the harbour

 And she shows you where to look

 Among the garbage and the flowers

 There are heroes in the seaweed

 There are children in the morning

 They are leaning out for love

 

 

TONIGHT WILL BE FINE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e5MUdNyaYoo

Sometimes I find I get to thinking of the past.

 We swore to each other then that our love would surely last.

 You kept right on loving, I went on a fast,

 now I am too thin and your love is too vast.

 But I know from your eyes

 and I know from your smile

 that tonight will be fine,

 will be fine, will be fine, will be fine

 for a while.

 

 I choose the rooms that I live in with care,

 the windows are small and the walls almost bare,

 there's only one bed and there's only one prayer;

 I listen all night for your step on the stair.

 

But I know from your eyes

 and I know from your smile

 that tonight will be fine,

 will be fine, will be fine, will be fine

 for a while.

 

 Oh sometimes I see her undressing for me,

 she's the soft naked lady love meant her to be

 and she's moving her body so brave and so free.

 If I've got to remember that's a fine memory.

 

 And I know from her eyes

 and I know from her smile

 that tonight will be fine,

 will be fine, will be fine, will be fine

 for a while.

 

YOU ARE SO BEAUTIFULL

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSsguF6Laj8

You are so beautiful

 To me

 You are so beautiful

 To me

 Can't you see

 

 You're everything I hoped for

 You're everything I need

 You are so beautiful to me

 You are so beautiful to me

 

You are so beautiful

 To me

 Can't you see

 You're everything I hoped for

 You're every, everything I need

 You are so beautiful to me

 

YOU KNOW WHO I AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPkUyPU6nw4

I cannot follow you, my love,

 you cannot follow me.

 I am the distance you put between

 all of the moments that we will be.

 You know who I am,

 you've stared at the sun,

 well I am the one who loves

 changing from nothing to one.

 

 Sometimes I need you naked,

 sometimes I need you wild,

 I need you to carry my children in

 and I need you to kill a child.

 

 You know who I am...

 

 

 If you should ever track me down

 I will surrender there

 and I will leave with you one broken man

 whom I will teach you to repair.

 

 You know who I am...

 

 I cannot follow you, my love,

 you cannot follow me.

 I am the distance you put between

 all of the moments that we will be.

 

 You know who I am...